WIGS 20% Minimum Markup Massively Mystifies Tennessee Groceries
Wine in groceries has been legal in Tennessee for just 18 days. But the WIGS law seems to have raised more questions than answers.
The statutory 20% minimum markup has been a constant source of questions for grocers. Here is one of our favorites:
When the wholesale price of wine drops, what is the minimum price that can be charged?
For example, say you have purchased wine at $10 per bottle. You price the wine at $12, the lowest legal price.
The wholesaler offers you the same wine for $9 a bottle. You can price this at $10.80. You buy the $9 wine, but have wine on the shelves that you purchased at $10.
Can you sell the all of the wine at $10.80, including the wine you purchased at $10?
Our best guess is yes. We think the last invoice price will be the rule for WIGS pricing. Look to the last invoice price and make sure the price is marked up at least 20%.
The Eagles comes to mind:
Wastin’ our time
On cheap talk and wine
There is no guidance from the ABC yet. Given the huge number of WIGS questions, we do not fault the ABC. Things are moving at the speed of light.
When you subscribe to the blog, we will send you an e-mail when there are new updates on the site so you wouldn't miss them.